Hi there

I was born in St. Catharines, diagnosed with Down Syndrome and my life got started!

We moved to London when I was 6 and we homeschooled for lots of years.

When I finished high school, I attended Fanshawe College for 3 years, and then decided it was time to work. I looked for a job and worked at Harveys for a few years, and then in 2008 I started working at Starbucks. I love working there, and like getting to know my co-workers and manager. They are really cool and fun to hang out with. Starbucks serves really good drinks!

I also work at Winners and my co-workers there are also good friends. We have some fun staff parties and we look out for each other and help each other. Thanks for shopping at Winners!

I just got a new job at Sobey’s and I am loving it. I work in the Community room and help Gus and Kim with the cooking classes. Sometimes there are leftovers and I get to have some of the amazing dinners Gus makes! I like meeting the people who come to the cooking classes and last week, a little baby girl came, named Mia and she was really cute! Sobey’s is a great store and the staff there are amazing!

I work out at Curves for exercise and I also volunteer at a nursery school, kindergarten class and nursing home.

In my spare time, I hang out with my friends and we do fun stuff. This summer my friends and our moms went to see Beauty and the Beast at Huron County Playhouse. It was great, and is one of my favourites. I also love spending time with my boyfriend Russell. We have been going out for 7 years, and we have some amazing dates- going to musicals, movies, bowling, mini-golf and he also cooks for me! This summer I joined his family for a play and Blue Jays game in Toronto. We stayed overnight there and also went to a club and listened to some good music.

I live in an apartment on my own, not too far away from where I grew up. I have a couple of people who help me some parts of living on my own and my mom still does some driving for me. I take the bus and also use Checker cabs for some things. Russell lives in the same apartment building, just a couple of floors up, so we can spend time together and sometimes cook together!

Now you know a bit more about me. I would love to get to know you!!

Heather Verdun